The CAMS Australian Rally Championship (ARC) is Australia’s premier domestic National Rally Championship and it is one of the longest running National Rally championships in the world.

The ARC in 2018 is made up of 6 rounds, with Kennards Hire Rally Australia the final round.

  • Eureka Rally – Victoria – 3-4 March –  Winners: Harry Bates/John McCarthy – Toyota Yaris AP4 – Video link:
  • Forest Rally – Western Australia – 27-29th April – Winners: Eli Evans/Ben Searcy – Skoda Fabia R5 – Video link –
  • National Capital Rally – ACT – 1-3 June – Winners: Eli Evans/Ben Searcy – Skoda Fabia R5
  • Rally Tasmania – Tasmania – 27-29 July – Winners Eli Evans Ben Searcy – Skoda Fabia R5
  • Adelaide Hills Rally – South Australia – Sept 22-23th – to run
  • Kennards Hire Rally Australia – NSW – 15-18th – to run

Coffs Harbour’s own Nathan Quinn claimed his first CAMS Australian Rally Championship in front of a passionate home-town crowd at the 2017 Kennards Hire Rally Australia.

Quinn dominated the national field in the fifth and final ARC round, winning all three legs, taking 12 of 17 stage wins and claiming first outright by a staggering 13 minutes.

As a bonus Quinn, with co-driver Ben Searcy, took it to the best rally drivers in the world, finishing ninth outright in the World Rally Championship field in his ten-year-old Mitsubishi EVO IX.

Coffs Harbour has a fine heritage in hosting rounds of the Australian Rally Championship with the region holding its own round for many years prior to the WRC Event.

This year the ARC has seen the introduction of the WRC 2 category R5 spec cars with Victoria’s Eli Evans and Rally Australia’s sponsorship manager Adrian Coppin competing with Evans leading the championship table.

The R5 spec cars are very similar cousins to the WRC cars that compete in the World championship, with Toyotas Esapekka Lappi the current WRC driver winning in Skoda R5 cars in the past.

Over 400 of the r5 specification cars compete world-wide in domestic championships. Australian crews competing in the R5 spec cars get to compare their skills and performance with the WRC2 crews that will compete in Kennards Rally Australia.

Both Toyota and Subaru compete in the championship. Harry Bates competes in a Toyota Yaris AP4 – this car is a local spec car designed to the NZ -Australian AP4 cost reduced category. Molly Taylor competes in a Subaru Impreza WRX STi.

The CAMS Australian Rally Championship in made of several categories:

  • Australian Rally champion – Driver and co-driver
  • CAMS Australian 2WD Rally Championship
  • CAMS Australian Rally Manufacturers’ Championship

The cars that crews compete in comply with local and international rules set down by the FIA and CAMS.

The CAMS Australian Rally Championship competitors also compete using a. control tyre supplied by MRF Tyres.

The cream of Australian rally teams will compete in the last round of the ARC to be staged in conjunction with Kennards hire Rally Australia. The ARC Crews will traverse the same route as the WRC event and the ARC cars start the stages shortly after the WRC cars.

Entry Information Here